5 minute vegan banana milkshake

Banana milkshake

You will need a blender for this recipe.

I love milkshakes. I miss milkshakes. I thought I would have to give them up. I don’t, thanks to the lovely people at Swedish Glace who make awesome vegan vanilla ice cream. Unfortunately, I am not currently getting paid to praise their product (although I’m willing to whore out this blog for some free ice cream people), but this ice cream truly is a great replacement product, almost certainly better than it non-vegan counterparts. Just don’t try their raspberry flavored one, it’s not good, it’s not good at all (tastes like medicine, and not like the good calpol stuff). Anyway, the point is I have a recipe for vegan banana milkshakes! Exciting, isn’t it?

Ingredients:

1 large/ripe banana
100ml rice milk (or other non-dairy milk, I have tried it with soya milk, it’s not quite as good)
2 (heaped) tbsp vegan vanilla ice cream (I used Swedish Glace Vanilla ice cream)
Cocoa powder for sprinkling on top (if you feel like it)

Method:

  1. Peel and chop the banana and put it in the blender, blend it until pulverized
  2. Add the soya milk and blend until mixed together well
  3. Then add the ice cream, blend until it is liquid
  4. Pour into a cup, if you want it extra cool, put it in the fridge for 5 minutes, otherwise, sprinkle with cocoa and serve

If you would like a chocolate/banana milkshake, add extra cocoa powder to the mix at the same time as the soya milk (1 heaped tbsp)

10 thoughts on “5 minute vegan banana milkshake

  1. Sounds delicious! Really wish I could get some vegan ice cream around here! I do have an ice cream maker on borrow for a bit, so I will soon be trying to make my own. I’m bookmarking this shake for when I do.

    • You don’t have Swedish Glace? That’s so sad, you’ll just have to come and visit England in order to try it. It’s that good 🙂 I want to try and make my own ice cream too at some point, but I don’t feel like I’m good enough yet not to mess everything up…

      • We don’t have Swedish Glace around here either – bummer! I do like So Delicious Coconut Milk ice cream, so I can use that in this recipe. I do wish I could try the Swedish Glace, however; you make it sound so good:)

      • Oh no! I should have thought about writing about alternative ice creams for people who don’t live in England (but then I don’t really know what sort of stuff you have).Sure the coconut milk ice cream will work well too, sometime in the future (very far in the future), I will put an ice cream recipe, and hopefully one that goes with this milkshake so that everyone can use it. Sorry!

      • Next time I’m in England, I will look for Swedish Glace. My favourite ice cream here is made from coconut milk (So Delicious is the brand) and it comes in a variety of different flavours. I love their chocolate chip mint!

  2. Pingback: 5 minute vegan raspberry and banana smoothie | Heavenly Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

