Not so heavenly, vegan baking failures

It was inevitable that I would make another mistake when baking. The other week I made a lemon cake that tasted solely of baking powder (which you can read about here), this week I’ve made ‘the disintegrating cake’. I think I must have not replaced the egg properly (with enough oil/margarine), because this is what happened:

Fail

:(

IMG_9485

So sad

Lessons learned:

  1. Do not forget to replace the egg (properly)
  2. Aesthetics is not everything, the cake actually tasted pretty good, especially with icing on it
  3. There will be a lot of trial and error when attempting to adapt recipes, so don’t get too annoyed

I will update the post next time there is a vegan baking disaster, so that my failures are there for the whole world to see…. Please share your vegan baking disasters in the comments below, so we hopefully won’t make your mistakes too (no judging allowed).

17 thoughts on “Not so heavenly, vegan baking failures

  1. Hahaha!! I was just replying to another blogger about my vegan baking disaster with what was supposed to be a lovely Easter cake but is now a pile of broken semi-squidge, and then your post popped up! Have a good Easter HVB x

  2. I’ve had a few disasters myself but realised the mistake I was making was trying to use an egg/butter recipe and simply replacing them with vegan alternatives. It just doesn’t seem to work that well. Best thing seems to be to use a dedicated vegan recipe. Try just googling vegan recipes. Hope that helps!

    • I will give making a few vegan chocolate cakes first (tried and tested recipes), I think, and then hopefully learn a way to adapt other chocolate cake recipes so I can post one here. Was trying to do too much, too soon probably. Thanks for the advice!

    • Thanks! I take baking a little bit too seriously, so got a little bit annoyed when the cake disintegrated, but it was funny with everything just falling apart. So I wanted to hear about other people’s disasters (only partly to make myself feel better).

    • Yeh, that’s a great point! So much blogging looks impossibly perfect, but in the short time I’ve been doing this, I’ve actually come to appreciate the human element of the community so much more than magazine perfection. Seeing other bloggers share their vegan baking – both the ups and downs – is motivating for me as a vegetarian, to try discovering new ways to do things.

    • I didn’t know how to make a cake at all until about 2 years ago when I made a really simple cake (using a microwave oven!) and now I’m trying to learn to make cake and things vegan. These mistakes are inevitably going to happen, so I thought I’d share it and get a little advice for next time/hear about other’s experiences failing in the kitchen. Plus the pictures are quite funny, such an ugly cake. And thanks, glad you liked it.

  3. Well, at least it tasted good. That’s the important thing… Too many of those “picture perfect” cakes are dry or bland. Or both!

    I haven’t seen a cake pan like yours. Is it vintage?

    • Tasted a bit like a brownie only not as good, so things kind of turned out well…. The cake pan i’m not sure about, i borrowed it from my housemate who is Danish (so I’m guessing the pan is too). Will ask her next time I talk to her, but that might be a while because of Easter

  4. I am like you, I take baking seriously as well, but I usually tell people that I am more of a cook than a baker. I’ve only had one baking disaster thus far and that was when I made a pound cake which smelled and tasted like soapy dishwater. Baking is truly a science, so I began to do some research. When using baking soda and baking powder together, sources have said that the baking soda needs to react with an acid. Even though I followed that to the letter, I could still smell and taste a hint of baking soda. Therefore, I had to tweak it a little for my needs.

    So what I find works for me in my baked goods (this applies to all purpose flour only) is when a recipe calls for baking soda and baking powder, use the exact measurement called for baking powder and then whisk together 1 teaspoon baking soda + 1 tablespoon of white distilled vinegar until the fizzing stops or until the liquid becomes clear. The baking soda and vinegar mixture equals one egg. Also, add in 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. The lemon juice is another acid that will help react with the baking soda and it will take away the flour taste from your baked goods. If you want a more neutral taste, then use an extract like almond extract along with the vanilla extract. If you want fudgy like chocolate brownies (which is what I prefer), then eliminate the leavening agents and use applesauce instead. 1/4 cup of applesauce equals one egg.

    • Thank you for the advice, it’s really great to hear what you’ve got to say and I’ll keep it in mind next time I bake. Like you, I think I need to do a little research so that baking is less of a guess work than it is right now. Thanks again.

  5. Pingback: Ultimate vegan chocolate cake | Heavenly Vegan Baking

Leave a Reply

