Vegan carrot cake

Thanks to ‘B-moviestar.com’ for the wonderful picture

Ingredients:

For the cake

  • 225g/8oz carrots
  • 280g/10oz flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 170g/6oz sugar
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1tsp ground ginger
  • 1tsp nutmeg
  • 200g/7oz vegan margarine
  • 200ml/7 fl oz orange juice
  • 1tsp orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

For the icing

  • 115g/4oz vegan margarine
  • 170g/6oz icing sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C
  2. Mix the sugar and margarine together in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy.
  3. Grate the Carrots and add to the mix.
  4. Add the Orange juice and zest to the mix
  5. Sift the flour, salt, spices, baking powder and vanilla into the mix and stir well.
  6. Spread out in the baking tin (be sure to use a loaf tin) and place in the oven for 20 minutes until nice and brown on the top and cooked in the middle (check by poking the middle of the cake with a knife).
  7. Once cooled make the vanilla icing by stirring together all the ingredients.
11 thoughts on “Vegan carrot cake

  1. The usage of the baking powder is currently missing from the Method section..A nice cake, which if you need to lower the sugar content, ease back on the icing.

  2. This looks so good! I haven’t had carrot cake in so long and this definitely made me want some! I wonder if I could substitute coconut oil for the margarine? I’ll definitely experiment soon! 🙂

    • Yes, I’d definitely give it a go, I haven’t used coconut oil before so I can’t tell you for definite, but you might end up with something brilliant so you might as well try! Good luck, hope it turns out well 🙂
      Also, I’m fairly new to vegan baking, is there anything you’d particularly recommend using (like coconut oil?) that would be particular good for cakes/cookies?

      • I know what you mean – I’m always experimenting with vegan baking as well and I’ve had some similar moments to your chocolate cake pictures haha! It looks like you’re coming up with some really great recipes though 🙂 Coconut oil is one of my go-to’s in cooking and baking since it’s less processed. I can tell you that it’s especially great in vegan cookies if you’re looking for a less cake-textured cookie! 🙂

  3. This one didn’t work out for me unfortunately. I checked after 20 mins and it was no-where near done, put it back for a bit more a couple of times and it sank into a thick pancake and well, it ended up in the bin! Looking at some other recipes for tray bake style vegan carrot cake (I used a 15″ x 9″ x 1″ tin) and the timings are often much longer – like an hour. How did you get on with it, is that the correct baking time? Sorry to post a downer message! On an up note the icing worked out much better than I thought it would with margarine instead of butter!

    • Oh no! Really? It worked out really well for me. I used a loaf tin, so I think that’s probably why things went wrong for you, sorry for not putting that in the recipe, I completely forgot to tell people which tin to use. It took 20 minutes when I made it so I really think the tin was the problem. Sorry again.

      • A few of my vegan cakes have been a bit hit and miss so far, I’m wondering if there’s something up with my oven or my scales are out. Thanks for getting back to me. I don’t want to give up on baking vegan, though it does seem like vegan cakes are a bit more tricky than ones with eggs in! I’ll try again at the weekend 🙂

  4. Thanks for this but I wondered if it is self raising or plain flour as I make it for the first time? I presume the latter but just checking!
    Rachel

  5. I’ve tried nearly all your recipes with great success but this one just hasn’t worked for me either….and I used a loaf tin. I left it in for 40 mins too and it still wasn’t cooked properly. Could there be a typo in the instructions somewhere regarding oven temp or quantities?
    Still, one flop out of many successes is pretty good going 🙂

Leave a Reply

