Vegan mini chocolate croissants

Croissant

Today we made some chocolate croissants/pastries for breakfast, unfortunately we were a bit too lazy to make our own pastry, so we used jus rol puff pastry which you can find in major supermarkets and is luckily vegan. If you want/have time to make your own pastry there is a recipe here

These are brilliant fresh out of the oven, i’d even recommend reheating them in the oven a little if you want eat them later.

Ingredients:

320g pastry

100g vegan chocolate (I recommend using dark chocolate but not more than 60% cocoa)

Quarter of a glass of soya milk

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 220°C/gas mark 7. Unfurl the sheet of pastry and then cut it into six squares.
  2. Cut each square diagonally to give 2 triangles (they will appear quite small). Put the triangle with the wider part facing you, and the point away from you.
  3. Break off small pieces of chocolate to place on the wider part near you.
  4. Then carefully roll from that chocolate-loaded end towards the point of the triangle.
  5. You should now have something resembling a straight croissant. Seal it slightly with your fingertips and curl it around into a crescent.
  6. Place the 12 chocolate croissants on a lined but not buttered baking tray and paint with the soya milk. Bake for 15 minutes until they are golden and puffy. (Half way through, I took them out of the oven to add a little vegan margarine on top of them, you can do this too if you want, but it’s not necessary).
  7. Take them out of the oven and enjoy!
8 thoughts on “Vegan mini chocolate croissants

  1. One of the things I’ve been worried about going vegan, never having the opportunity to eat croissants again. I know, it may seem trivial, but they’re simply delicious. I had chocolate croissants in Paris, and the taste hasn’t left my mouth since. I long for another. You’ve given me hope. Pain au chocolat can still exist in a vegan world :)

  2. The Jus rol croissants and pain au chocolat are vegan btw for an easy alternative. 12 minutes and you have croissants for breakfast.

  3. Mmmm…. these look heavenly! just like the name of your blog. I’ll have to try out those pre-made puff pastries if I get too lazy to make my own! Not an ideal situation, like you kinda said, but it does the job right?!! And so glad that they’re vegan. I’m not vegan, but like to eat as cleanly and as animal-free as possible when I have the choice.

    I’m a first timer to the blog and found you through Have a Schnick! Excited to keep following!

    • Hey
      I would have loved to make my own pastry, but it takes so long (I will give it a go soon though) and I’m in the middle of writing my dissertation so I wanted something nice quickly (they were so yummy so I was very happy!)
      I just had a look at your blog, quite excited to try the coconut iced coffee recipe, I love iced coffee, one of the things I miss the most since I became vegan, so yay :)
      Thanks for visiting, and nice to hear from you,
      Laura

Leave a Reply

